Back to Top

News & Announcements

  • Print
						Send to a Friend
In This Section

Board Announcement: Energy Safety Canada Announces New Board Members

June 26, 2019

Energy Safety Canada is pleased to announce the election of two new members to its Board of Directors. The new directors are Tracy Edwards and Céline Gerson.

Dr. Edwards, former President and Chief Executive Officer of Keyano College, and Ms. Gerson, President of Schlumberger Canada Ltd., follow the recent appointment of Gary Mar, President and CEO of the Petroleum Services Associations of Canada (PSAC).

“We are excited about the addition of all of these talented people to our Board,” said John Rhind, Chair of the Board of Directors. “Their extensive backgrounds and unique experiences complement our Board’s vast skillsets. With these additions we are confident that Energy Safety Canada is in an even stronger position to continue to drive improved safety performance across the industry. Their leadership and guidance will be invaluable as we continue to execute on our goal of zero incidents.”

Dr. Edwards brings more than 30 years of experience in post secondary education in Canada and the United States. Prior to joining Keyano College in Fort McMurray, she served as President of both Western Canada’s Lethbridge College and Lakeland College and as Academic Vice-President and Chief Learning Officer at Valencia Community College in Orlando, Florida.

Ms. Gerson has over 20 years of experience in the oil and gas industry with entrepreneurial companies and Fortune 500 organizations. Ms. Gerson joined Schlumberger Canada with the acquisition of Cameron International where her responsibilities included Vice-President and Chief Compliance Officer. Ms. Gerson is recognized for a unique blend of skills that include international business, trade, legal and corporate management.

Mr. Mar brings significant experience to Energy Safety Canada’s Board as a former Government of Alberta cabinet minister, holding positions in six different portfolios, including Health and Wellness, Environment and Education. Prior to joining PSAC, Mar also represented the interests of Alberta as envoy in Washington, D.C. and as Alberta’s representative in Asia.

Energy Safety Canada’s current Board of the Directors is comprised of:

John Rhind, Chair

Tristan Goodman

Murray Elliott, President & CEO

Tim McMillan

Chris Bloomer

Gary Mar

Mary Cianchetti

Dave Reed

Mike Doyle

Steve Reynish

Tracy Edwards

Mark Scholz

Céline Gerson

Scott Stauth


Download .PDF

Return to News
In This Section

Stay Informed
Stay Informed

Subscribe to Energy Safety Canada to receive Safety Alerts, course updates and/or news and events by location.

Subscribe Now
Contact Us
CustomerService [at] ​EnergySafetyCanada [dot] com
Frontline Magazine
Frontline Magazine

View past issues of Frontline Magazine

Launch Viewer
Energy Safety Canada Blog

Follow & Share

Enform Online Chat